Back to top

Greece: Extension of entry ban for non-European citizens

Greece will not open its borders for nationals from outside the European Union, with the exception of citizens from 11 countries, according to an aviation directive (NOTAM) issued by the Hellenic Civil Aviation Authority (HCAA) on Wednesday 12 August.

The aviation directive, which has been issued as part of the preventive measures taken to limit the further spread of the coronavirus (Covid-19) virus, will be in force until August 31 (midnight).

The countries that are excluded from the directive are: Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and the United Arab Emirates.

“In order to prove their place of residence, third-country nationals may present their residence permit; work permit; identity card, provided that it indicates their place of residence; driving license or other documents,” HCAA said.

Who else is exempt from the ban

  • Nationals of EU member states and the Schengen Agreement, including their spouses or persons with whom they have entered into a cohabitation agreement, as well as their (underage) children.
  • Medical and nursing staff, researchers and professionals in the field of health, provided that they show their license to practice or other appropriate documents proving their professional status at Greece’s points of entry; and provided that their entry into the country is connected with the practice of their professional duties.
  • Long-term residents of the EU or Schengen Member States and third-country nationals holding a residence permit in the EU or Schengen Member States.
  • Members of: government missions, diplomatic or consular authorities and missions, international and European organizations, humanitarian organizations in the performance of their duties.
  • Military and security personnel and staff of the General Secretariat for Civil Protection.
  • Personnel employed in the field of transport, including seafarers, aircraft crews, crews and hired flight personnel firefighters.
  • Drivers of lorries (and their necessary personnel) passing through the country to transport goods.
  • Transit passengers, students, elderly carers and people with disabilities, as well as and seasonal agricultural workers.

Third-country nationals subject to the ban have the right to submit a request to the Greek consular authority of their place of residence for their exceptional entry into Greece for professional or personal reasons. It is reminded that all travelers to Greece are still obliged to complete the Passenger Locator Form (PLF) 24 hours before entering the country.